In search of the perfect home

I am currently working on a project called The perfect home, which I started two years ago. The project began as a research for what would be the perfect home for me. It turned out to be a state of mind rather than a place. I’m using the snail shell as a representation of it because a state of mind is something we carry with us everywhere. Since I began the search I made several textile objects, each revealing something that the perfect home should be.

It should evolve with you…

6
This textile object represents a section of the nautilus shell as a metaphor for the stages we pass through life to become who we are.

so it is never finished

11fd5acd7423ff6c91b879498630ad9f
This textile miniature represents a growing snail shell. Unlike a snail, a human evolves in more ways than just physically. It also grows mentally and emotionally and those two ways of evolving never stop, so a home is not something finite.

and it should have place for friends.

9

Save

4 thoughts on “In search of the perfect home”

  1. These are so delicate and so precious. What a great idea. I really identify with the concept of home and state of mind. I am always remembering that advice, don’t make a home out of a person. I used to worry that I would make a home out of a person, but to be honest, I am now completely surrendering to the fact that that is happening and I am fully invested and I really dont care what the advice says. Anyways, I look forward to seeing you develop this further throughout your life. Thank you!

    1. Thank you for your kind words and sharing your feelings with me. It is wonderful when someone resonates with my works, I feel like it makes their meaning richer. I hope the home you found will turn out to be perfect for you!

Leave a Reply

